Wild at Heart | Altered Canvas for Colour Blast Australia

Today I am sharing an altered canvas that I have created back in July but I have been saving it until now to share.  It turned out pretty good and the whole process was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be.  The hardest thing is waiting for layers to dry.

 

For this project, I decided to give photo transfer a go.  The only thing is I don’t have a printer at home so I asked my husband to print a photo at work with a laser printer.  He wasn’t sure if he had one and I am still not sure the print was printed on a laser printer as the actual transfer process didn’t work as easy as the tutorials I watched on YouTube.

I added heaps of recycled embellishments and bits that I had been hoarding to this canvas.  I really love the depth of texture and details.

Here you can see a bottle cap and some of the chipboard and lace embellishments under all the colour.

 

I left all the tails of the hot glue gun as I liked what they added to the finished piece.  They look a lot like threads all over or even cobwebs.  No need to dust it later on 😛

I used a whole heap of Colour Blast Products on this piece.  I used Colour Sprays, Shimmer Sprays, Embossing powder and the Texture paste.  Every product added a little bit more to the piece.

Here’s a tip: The Colour Paste can also be added directly to metal embellishments without any need to prime them.  Here you can see I added it to this metal butterfly.

I then added black and white drawing ink splatters and a bit of Royalty Colour Shimmer Spray in splatters to tone down the white. ( I went a little cray cray) Finally I added some more metal embellishments and a quote cut into strips.  The quote is from the very first Kit the Habit Kit called Brave.  That was one of my favourite kits.  The other thing I did was add a chipboard title.  This one is from Imaginarium Designs.  I coated it in two layers of Bling Embossing Powder to make sure it was super shiny and really stood out.

I have wanted to make one of these for ages.  They look more complicated than they actually are.  So give it a go.  I also created a process video you can check out here.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

