Scrap and Chat Retreat – A mums’ Escape – PART ONE Planting the seed

Back in August 2015, I saw a post pop up on my Facebook feed saying that places on a retreat in Melbourne would be open soon.  My thoughts were there was no way my husband would let me go plus we had three children the youngest just about 4 months old but something made me want to go.  So, I messaged my husband at work to see what he thought.  You know, plant the seed.  His message back was “when is it?”.  I replied July 2016.  His reply was, “Krisy, that is 11 months away, you won’t still be breastfeeding then and everyone will be fine, I can look after them.  Just book it if you really want to do it.”  I didn’t book straight away.  I sat contemplating for another day.  Could I leave my kids?  Could I really afford it?  Then the next day I decided “Just do it”. So I booked and paid my deposit.

That retreat was Scrap and Chat run by Malinda Gardner.  I had never heard of it before but in was in Melbourne (I desperately want to go a plane again, it had been years!), it was Scrapbooking and it was with people who love Scrapbooking.

scrap-and-chat

I then spend the next 11 months paying the fee off in bits and pieces.  I was lucky enough that year to have a few layouts published in Scrapbooking Memories magazine plus my birthday and Christmas money went straight to that trip.  It’s funny what you can afford when you really focus on it.  I had a tally and I counted down all my fees and put money away for the classes too.  I literally paid it off $20 here, $50 there.  It was painfully slow but thankful Mal is great like that and lets everyone pay it off.

After I booked, I looked at who was going.  I remember seeing names like Amanda Hartmann, Sandra Brimelow and Charmaine Kosh. One name I remember seeing and being a bit in awe was Sue Plumb.  I had admired her work for such a long time as she is very much a staple in Scrapbooking Memories Magazine.  We had chatted over the internet and I knew I loved her before I actually met her in real life. Little did I know about 8 months later I would be meeting her and my idol (Fiona Paltridge) at a workshop in Brisbane and that would be the start of a friendship I hold very dear.  I remember saying to my husband “Did you know Sue Plumb is going to be there?”  His response, “Where? And I don’t know who Sue is!”  Oops, I forgot about that.

This is Sue and I meeting for the first time in person at a workshop in April 2016.

IMG_0337

Then in February, the message went out – Qantas had a sale on and now was the time to book.  I booked my flights.  That was it.  I was freaking going!  Well, I was before but now it was real.  My butt was on that plane.

The next thing was what to pack?  I’ll go into that tomorrow in PART TWO

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

One thought on “Scrap and Chat Retreat – A mums’ Escape – PART ONE Planting the seed”

Leave a Reply

