Layouts That Didn’t Make the Cut | An honest share.

Just a quick share from me today.  As you know I was a Guest Designer over with Imaginarium Designs for the past six months.  My time there is now finished but I wanted to share a few layouts that I didn’t think made the cut.  They are ok layouts but to me, they are not my best work so I decided to hold them back and create something else in their place.  I guess the reason that I am sharing this is to show that not every layout meets our personal expectations and rather than dwell on it, I just put them to the side and move on.  I tend to think that I am better vesting my energy elsewhere rather than dwelling.

Here is the first one:

DSC01446.JPG

This layout is ok.  I used a darker photo because it told the story.  It is a full family selfie after my husband had returned home from a 10 day work trip.  We don’t get full selfies very often so it was important for me to capture this in a layout.  Because of the photo and the glare the page didn’t photograph very well not matter what I tried so I decided I wouldn’t use it.  Straight into the album it went.

Here are a couple of close ups of the details:

The next layout, I was experimenting with some paper layering of Napkins and a more vintage feel. Flowers are not really my favourite thing and everytime I look at this layout I don’t think it has the finished feel to it but I wasn’t sure what else to add to it.  Rather than wasting time thinking about it I decided to put it aside and I would come back to it one day when I know where I wanted it to go.

img_1579

Here are some close ups:

Finally there is this layout.  It is a photo from my daughters first birthday.  Over the past year I have scrapped a few different photos from this day.  This layout is finished, I am ok with how it looks but for some reason I decided it wasn’t quite design team worthy.  I think maybe because gold is such a hard colour to photograph in real life and I couldn’t get it to look right in the photos.

img_2294 And here are some close ups:

So, there it is…My shitty layouts that will go into my album but didn’t make the design team cut from my perspective.  I have an expectation of my layouts that I share especially representing the companies that I do. But most of all, I want to be proud of them knowing that they are a true representation of me and my style.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

