Trains | Helmar Creative Team Share

This month for my Helmar Worldwide Creative Team project I was given the theme Trains as my topic.  My initial thought was to scrapbook some photos of my kids at the Railway Workshops, a local museum exhibit close to home but to be honest that was a bit boring.  I decided I would find some photos from our travels.  We travelled a lot by train all over the world but nothing appealed to me until I came across our photos of Auschwitz.  This place moved me.  I love grunge heavy mixed media scrapbooking layouts and this experience had me filled with ideas.  So, I decided to create a grungy, heavy mixed media scrapbooking layout.

Here it is here:

 

Just a bit of background on the photos.  These are photos taken at Auschwitz concentration camp in Poland.  It is a place that evoked so much emotion that I totally did not expect.  It is a very dark place.  This is one train journey I am glad I was never made to take. If you would like to know more you can read all about it here.

To read more about the layout and the Helmar products I used please check out the Helmar Worldwide blog.

This layout has a very layered mixed media background.  I love layers and textures.  When I create a layout I want the finished product to have so much to look at that it just makes you want to touch it.

Here are a few close ups:

I have prepared a process video of this layout so you can watch it all come together here.

 

 
Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

