Picture This! Halloween Challenge

Halloween is not really celebrated here in Australia and I usually avoid Halloween challenges as I didn’t think I would have much to scrap but I have found this year there are more colour challenges, moodboards and general dress up challenges rather than strictly Halloween so this opened up the field a lot more.  Not only was I able to work with these categories, I wanted to.  Over the next few days I will share with you a few things I have been working on.  Today I am going with the Picture This! moodboard/halloween challenge.

This is the challenge:

img_3799

And this is what I came up with….

img_3802

I wish I had taken a photo before I added any colour, the finished product is way different and awesome but I didn’t document the process as much as I would have liked.  There will be a process video up on POPLEOPOD YouTube channel but I am still working on it at the moment so I will probably be live tomorrow.  Make sure you are a subscriber so you don’t miss out.

Here are a few close ups too:

img_3805img_3803img_3803

The background is a piece of pattered paper from deep in my stash, I made some cobwebs with hot glue and then applied layers of paint over the top.  I have been embracing the apply and wipe back technique that DeeDee Catron uses a lot in her work and I must say, I really love it.  At first I was hesitant about the amount of product waste but the build up of colour is just beautiful and the baby wipes can be saved, dried and used on other projects.  So it’s not all that bad really.

I also used a lot of my deep dark stash pieces on this layout,  that flair button has been floating around from a garage sale grab bag I picked up a few years ago, and those brads…I mean brads – who has used them in like the last 2 years without being prompted by an old skool stash busting challenge.  I actually picked up a jar of random bits when my Local Scrapbooking Store closed down like 4 years ago.  Who would have ever thought I would need a few spiders and skulls!?!?

I’ll be back tomorrow to share another Halloweenish layout.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

8 thoughts on “Picture This! Halloween Challenge”

Leave a Reply

