Your Time to Shine Layout

This layout I created inspired by a layout I saw by Fiona Paltridge on YouTube.  I can’t remember which one I just know I binged on Fiona videos the day before and then the next day I produced this.  Fiona is one of my idols!  This layout is very grundge and all about layers.

So, to start the background all I did was pick up bits that I had sitting on my desk.  These were bits that I had saved, cut off things or tried to put on to layouts that just didn’t fit.  I have the habit of throwing them just beyond my camera stand in the hope that they will either put themselves away or be used. So, I just stuck them all on across the page.

I added lots of “bits” and then gessoed over the whole thing. Then I used a mop brush to apply colour.  I used Maya Road Expesso and Flutterby Designs Flutter paint is Turquoise that I had watered down.  I also added a bit of black drawing ink.  Once I was happy with the base colour I added a whole heap of texture stamping.

Then it was time to add my photo.  I added heaps of  layers to frame my photo and give the layout some dimension.  There is cardboard, book pages, hessian, gyprock tape all tucked in behind the photo.  To add even more detail, I embossed a Kate Doily piece of chipboard from the ID range three times to give it a nice gloss and then cut it in half and slipped it in amongst the layers.

To the title chippy I embossed it with some gold embossing powder but I only embossed it once and I only heated it until the powder just melted.  I wanted it to have texture and not be smooth.

There is lots going on in the layout and I love that when you look at it you see something different every time.

 I can’t wait to show you what else I have been working on.

 

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

