SBT50 Final Week | Week 6- Backyard

Today I am sharing my final weeks layouts for SBT50 Week 6.  I don’t have process videos this week. One because one of the layouts was a mono print that I just added to and the other one, I’m not sure what happened.  I think the battery on my camera went flat.

This week was all about the backyard.  Here is the moodboard here:

img_3525

I looked at this one and all I could see was colour and masses of it.  So, I pulled out my monoprint pile and chose to use one of them as my base.  Then I added swirls of colour over the top using my Flutterby Designs paints.  I left them to dry naturally to keep their bulkiness and prevent any bubbling.  Then I layered a whole heap of colourful die cuts that I had in my stash.  It is quite busy but it goes with the fun of the photo I think.

Here is my layout:

img_3585

Here are a few close ups too:

The second moodboard was a little more chilled.  Here it is here:

img_3524

So, I took inspiration from the green succulents and the birds in the feeder.  I have had this photo of my daughter printed for a while and the green of her shirt worked really well with my idea.

I decided to draw in some of the wood tones from the moodboard and started with a piece of Kraft cardstock rather than white.  I then applied a thin layer of clear gesso using an old rewards card.  Once the gesso was dry, I applied all the green inks I add in watery consistencies drying between each colour change.  This prevents the colours mixing too much.  You can’t really see too much tonal difference in the photos but that has to do with the Kraft cardstock underneath and the lighting.  For my embellishments I used some fussy cut leaves that were left over from last week and added some paper straws, string and a stamped and inked bird.

Here is my layout here:

img_3600

And here are a few close ups:

This weeks’ photo challenge was Backyard.

img_3526

I had plans to take photos of my backyard that is all strewn with toys, a full clothes line and my kids running a muck but before I knew it, it was Thursday and I had missed the entry deadline.

So, this series of challenges is finished. I really enjoyed playing along and I am surprised that I managed to keep up as well as I did.  I can’t wait for another round.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

