Believe in Yourself | DT share for D-lish Scraps

Today I am sharing another layout inspired by a Sketch.  This one is from the Scrap Suite on Facebook and it’s by my fellow Design Team Member Mandy.

Here is the challenge here:

This layout is pretty special to me.  The photo is of me standing in front of Heather McMahon’s tutor display at the 2015 Brisbane Scrapbooking expo. This was me dreaming of one day creating my own stand. Fast forward 12 months and I was creating my own display.  I am still pinching myself.  In that 12 months I had really dedicated myself to my craft and it had paid off.

This is my layout.

Really I kept this layout pretty simple.  You can read about the basic structure on the D-lish blog but I just wanted to add a few more points here.  The use of the Paint Chip is new to me.  I will be honest I cannot go into the hardware without taking a few (ok, a handful) home.  I always have the intention to use them but I just couldn’t work out how.  Well, I finally used one and I love the extra bit it brings to a layout. I have used them a few time since.

The other thing I want to share is the Imaginarium Designs Chipboard.  This chipboard is so detailed yet surprisingly pretty hardy.  I like that you can do stuff to it and it doesn’t rip or tear.  To these pieces I embossed them two or three times using Colour Blast Embossing Powder in Bling, to create a nice glossy finish.  This allows them to pop against the bright busy background.

Finally to bring a bit more blue into the layout, I used the smooshing technique and added some blue gelato behind the photo.  It is simple to do and finishes the layout beautifully.

Isn’t it awesome how you can take a sketch and make it look totally but use the same base idea.  I will definately be adding this sketch to my book of sketches for future inspiration.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

