Design Team SUYS AUGUST Fun & Games Layout

The challenge for this months Show Us Your Stuff challenge was set by my fellow team mate Anita Rodway – its the “UGLY” paper challenge.  You have to use ugly papers from your stash.  The joke amongst us designers were ugly papers are those you have in your stash that you think “what was I thinking” but then you have a look and there is more than one of the ugly little suckers!

For my layout I used 2.  It is a great stash busting exercise and to be honest with mixed media you can pretty much alter any piece of paper to make it more reasonable.  The first sheet of paper was from a Studio Calico pack – its like a off creamy green colour and is lined like a ledger.  I altered it with lines and paint splatters then some watercolour and an exacto knife gave it a new lease on life.  I then put the second piece of ugly paper behind and ta-da an awesome layout has started.  I came up with this idea after looking at something on Instagram.  I wish I could tell you what and who it was but it was the lines that planted a seed in me.

IMG_9227.JPG

Here are a few close ups of the “Uglies”

IMG_9231.JPG

So the idea of Show Us Your Stuff is to show case handmade embellishments.  On this layout I have a handmade washi rosette – made by me and also a Charms Creations DIY tab along with a Flutterbys Tab.

There is also a process video on the Popleopod YouTube channel so head over and check it out.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

