SBM Masters Challenge – Graphic 45

Hi, today I am sharing an up close look at the layout I created for Scrapbooking Memories Magazine Masters Challenge – Graphic 45.  These papers caused a bit of a stir amongst the masters as a lot of them don’t usually use darker colours or even busy papers quite like the Graphic 45 range.

Me, I LOVE Graphic 45 and couldn’t wait for this challenge.  We were given 3 new collections to choose from.  In my box I had Enchanted Forest, Voyage Beneath the Sea and City Scapes.  I chose to go with Voyage Beneath the Sea because I had a heap of under water photos I wanted to scrap.

IMG_9640

To start I creates and textured background using home made toilet paper texture paste then I layered colour over the top.  For the layers of colour I used Colour Blast Texture paste.  This stuff is fabulous to work with and dries shiny which is great because it made it stand out against the busy background papers.

Once it was all dry I added my fussy cut details from another page in the collection, some thread and string, a sequin bow and brass anchor and thats about it.  Really, it was an easy layout to create the thing that took the longest was the drying time.  I didn’t want the pastes to bubble so I had to let them dry naturally.  My home made texture paste took ages to dry and I mean ages – nearly 2 days.  The Colour Blast paste not so long just overnight.

Up close it looks like a real mess but the finished product I am very happy with.

IMG_9647

I recorded my process of putting together this layout so you can see how easy it is to me a quite full on looking mixed media layout.  Mixed media is nothing to be afraid of.  Just don’t overthink it. Here’s a link to my YouTube Channel.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

