Masters Challenge Entries 2015

I thought that it was time that I share my 2015 Masters Entries and my thoughts about them.

I had decided as part of my New Years Resolutions that I would apply this year.  My first time.  I was excited and scared at the same time.  I didn’t tell anyone my plans, I didn’t want to have to meet expections or share my disappointment if I didn’t get a look in.  I thought about this a lot before the tasks were actually released.  Silly I know as you don’t know what the tasks are until they are released but I had a really good idea for an off the page project.  When the tasks were released there was no Off the Page project. Arrrrgh!

The tasks this year were –

  1. Scrap a single layout a 5×7 photo that must be engaging and have eye-contact.
  2. Scrap a layout using at least three photographs.
  3. Scrap a layout that includes Bling (Interpreted your way)
  4. Incorporate a budget saving technique to your layout. This could be through extending the use of a product or upcycling.

For the first time ever, I thought about each task, sat down and planned.  Usually I would just print a whole heap of photos and see where they take me but this time I was serious.  I highlighted the core things that I needed to focus on. Then I highlighted the due date. Then I got started.

I knew what photo I wanted to use for the 5×7 so I went and got that printed.  I only have a Picturemate printer so 6×4 is the largest I can print at home.  Then I started putting together my layouts. The first task I started was the Bling.  I had the layout idea in mind but didn’t know what photo to team it up with.  I actually had two ideas but when I put together the first idea it turned out better that I thought so I didn’t even worry about the other one.


I didn’t finish one layout start to finish like I would normally but I worked on all tasks at once. The second task I started was my 5×7 photo.  I knew the background that I wanted to create and bought some distress stain at the Brisbane Scrapbooking expo just to put it together.  The background is a reflection of what I remember about the day the photo was taken.  I was having maternity photos taken that day and the photographer (who is now like a friend as she had photographed our family every six months over the past 2 years) was talking to me and then all of a sudden she said to me, “Stop there.  The light is perfect.”  I looked up through the trees and mottled light and green leaves it what I saw.  I love the way the background turned out on this one.


The next was the Upcycle challenge.  I remember there was a past challenge that had a similar theme and I remember thinking I don’t have those things at home.  I would have to go buy them just to upcycle them.  I didn’t want anyone to think that about my entry.  I wanted to choose something that everyone had access too.  There is a trend at the moment for the “Packaging Technique”.  Packaging is something everyone had access to but I didn’t want to do something that is being done.  So I decided that I would use the packaging in a different way.  I would use it as paper.  I needed to create a background.  I decided to use the outside of some alphas.  The part that you would usually throw away.  I cut it up and stuck it to a piece of cardstock then covered it in a few layers of gesso.  I wanted to mute the colours.  Once it was covered I coloured it with inks and then highlighted different letters in different colours.  I used the packaging as a layout within my paper cluster under my photo.  I stamped it with Stayzon Ink so it didn’t just get lost amongst all the other layers.


Finally, after a weekend away, I decided on three photos from a trip to Cooly Rocks that I would scrapbook.  Two a very similar but focus on what the layout is about – Licorice Legs.  I decided to go a bit grungy with this layout.  I knew how I wanted the background to look and I had a few goes at creating it. I just couldn’t get the colour right.  I’m glad I did because I wouldn’t have been able to create the finished layout I did with the other attempts.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

2 thoughts on “Masters Challenge Entries 2015”

  1. Fabulous to hear your thought and creative process. I like reading your details of each layout. I’m going to give it a go too this year for the first time!! Thanks for sharing.
    Louise xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

