White with One – August Challenge 2015

This layout was picked up for publishing before I entered it in the challenge. It was finally published last month but here is the original blog post and my thoughts….

This is a new Challenge to me.  I have heard of it before but I’ve never tried it.  I’m not sure if its a colour I would have usually attempted to work with but it was surprisingly fun.

The idea of the challenge is White with One. The ‘One’ is a colour specified by the challenge.  This month is was “CUSTARD”. Yep, that pastey yellow. I wasn’t sure that I would participate this month but then I was looking for a missing stamp and I moved a pile of background layouts that I have started and not finished.  There was a cream one with some yellow detail. It was the perfect base for the challenge.


Over the background, I applied texture paste through a stencil and when it was dry I applied a layer of white gesso to make it more bright white. For more white and texture, I added white thread and then a yellow and white paper cluster that included a white doily. You are allowed to add black as an accent colour but it shouldn’t dominate so I used it under a yellow flair button in the form of a Charms Creation X flair and as a matte under the photo to make it pop. The yellow Journey title I found in my stash from an old Crate Paper Embellishment pack. It was just the right colour.  I added the typed journaling on some white paper to bring some more white into the layout.


I am really happy with the overall layout.  I’m not sure if I over used the custard colour and need more white but I think it looks pretty good.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

