Kraft + | Guest Designer

 

This month I was asked to be a Guest Designer over on the Kraft + challenge blog on behalf of Flutterby Designs.  This challenge was all about Jigsaws.

IMG_1168

So, I had this idea that I could include actual jigsaw pieces in my layout.  So, I went and bought myself a $5 jigsaw thinking I could just grab a handful and jam them together and it would look fine.  Nope, I was wrong. There is no way you can get them to fit together nicely without putting the puzzle together.  I usually work weeks ahead of deadlines but a crazy month saw me sitting down to this challenge 3 days before it was due. I was faced with the challenge to scrap the idea or put the puzzle together.  It wasn’t a small puzzle either 1000 pieces.  So, I spent 2 hours pulling out all the edges and corners and then some similar colours.  I managed somehow to find enough matching pieces to make it work without having to complete the whole thing.

Once the puzzle was sorted, I coved the pieces in three coats of gesso and then hand painted each one with Flutterby Designs Flutter Paint.  Thankfully this paint has good body and it only took two decent coats to get the colours looking vibrant and solid.  Then it was a matter of putting the layout together.

It was a crazy idea that paid off I think.  Here is my process video over on my YouTube Channel POPLEOPOD.

 

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

