Altered tags

I have never been a tag maker.  The thought of giving something so beautiful away that someone would possibly throw away makes my insides shrivel up at the thought.  I am like that with cards too.  Any cards I make are only strategically given to people that A. I like and B. I know will appreciate the effort and cost and c. WON’T THROW THEM AWAY.  But I decided that I wanted to give them a go.  I might frame them rather than attach them to a gift just so I know they are safe.

I have been working on a few different ideas for tags and these are the first two I made.  I found one on pinterest that used the frame in a similar way that I really liked so I thought I would give it a go.

I recently tidied up my D-lish stash so these tags are just full of bits from the D-lish store along with other bits and bobs that I have been hoarding.

For the first tag – I use the dress mannequin from Dusty Attic as my main focus and built the tag around that.

I used an old dress pattern on the background because you can’t make a dress without a pattern as well as a button and the word create.  The wooden frame is from the D-lish store and adds a really nice feminine touch to the tag.  I wanted a Vintage shabby chic feel so I kept all the colours pretty muted and only added a few soft pink flowers and some Maya Road Leaf pins, oh and a gold sequin bow because as it turns out I have an addiction. Here it is close up:

For the second tag, I used a Deer wood Veneer as my base to build the tag around.  Again, I wanted to keep a shabby chic feel to the tag but I decided to add a bit of colour to this one with some random paper flowers I had floating round in the bottom of my D-lish box.

For a bit more colour I also added an XO flair button from one of the past Just Add Paper Packs.  Throw in a bit of stamped tissue paper, some Maya Road Leaf pins and a random Studio Calico Wood Veneer banner that says Morning and I was happy.  (I chose the banner because teamed up with the deer it says “Morning Dear” – which I thought was a cute greeting – do you get it or am I a bit cray?)

Heres a close up of all the details:

There is a process video up on POPLEOPOD YouTube channel so let me know what you think.

 

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

One thought on “Altered tags”

  1. I, like you, only make cards for special occasions (not for every birthday) and only give them to people who I know will appreciate all the effort and cost that goes into making them and who won’t throw them away.
    I never used to make cards for that reason, I generally stick to pages so I can keep them, but will make cards for milestone birthdays and christenings, etc..
    I love seeing your work, keep them coming! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

