Show Us Your Stuff – April STAMPING Challenge

Today, I am sharing my April Show Us Your Stuff Challenge.  This month the challenge is to use stamps.  This is my third attempt at the challenge as the first two was picked up for publishing so keep and eye out in Scrapbooking Memories Magazine for those.

Anyhow, when I saw this challenge I knew I wanted to use one of my hand carved stamps.  Hand carving stamps is something I rediscovered last year after not having made any since High School.  It is such a great thing to be able to make things to suit your layout rather than having to search for them online and it is so easy to do.  I have put together a simple YouTube video for you to have a look at and maybe inspire you to make your own.

This is my layout.  It is a stamp inspired by @loolabelle (Louise Nelson) on Instagram.  A while a go she shared a series of stamps she made of crazy little personalities.  I made a girl to represent my daughters and a bunny to represent my son who’s favourite thing in the whole wide word is a manky toy bunny.  As it turns out my second daughter has taken to a bunny toy too and my first daughter felt left our not having a bunny of her own and gave up her dummies to receive a bunny from the Easter Bunny.  So, the stamp represents them all now.  This layout is about my Second daughter and her bunny.

 

IMG_0058.JPG

The layout is a bit girl grungy.  I used a piece of spots and hearts paper as my base from the recent Hello Love Collection from Crate Paper. I then dulled it a bit with a layer of gesso added a splash of water colour.  On top of that I used another of @loolabelle ‘s string techniques to make a unique line background.  You will see on the process video on Popleopod how I went about it.

I also threw in some Studio Calico stamps for a bit more visual interest (these are the dots and the heart)  To embellish I kept it fairly simple by using a Charms Creations DIY heart and a Flutterby Designs Wood Veneer frame and Flair button.

Here are a few close ups

There is a process video to go with this layout so you can see how I made the string background.  It’s really a great mixed media background that isn’t too messy. (As long as you don’t accidentally knock over your ink).

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

