Scrap the Girls April Moodboard Challenge

This month on the Scrap the Girls Challenge blog is a Colour Challenge designed by the fabulous Rikki Graziani. My first thoughts were Easter Colours when I saw.  I went and printed of a whole heap of Easter photos from the last few years and they didn’t match the colour scheme so….I went through a pile of photos I have on my desk (waiting for the right layout) and I decided to use a black and white photo of my daughter who promises she wasn’t eating sand.

IMG_9684.JPG

I then went through my stash pulling out papers that I thought would match the colours.  I settled on a crazy piece that has been in my stash for over ten years.  I know this because the price tag on the back was from a shop I used to frequent before I went overseas to live in 2006.  When we returned to Australia in 2009, it had closed down so its old and to be honest I don’t know what I was thinking when I bought it.

Looking at the moodboard for inspiration my eyes settled on the mandala style drawing in the top right hand corner.  I read something recently that Mandalas are going to be big this year so I decided that I would recreate something similar and then cut out parts of it.  When I was hand cutting out some of the negative shapes, I developed an appreciation and need for a paper cutting machine.  I never thought I needed one but all the beautiful layouts I am seeing with cut shapes and after hand cutting them myself maybe I will add one to my wish list along with a Minc.

IMG_9688.JPG

For the journalling I decided to handwrite the quote from the moodboad on journalling strips.  I usually do this strip style journalling with my words typed up on my typewriter but because I hand drew the background I wanted to include my handwriting too.

Looking back at this layout, it looks fairly simple but there was a lot of time and effort that went into drawing the background and cutting it out.  It is also mixed media free which for me at the moment is very different.  I kept my embellishments to a minimum too all I used was a Charms Creations Book tab, Studio 1440 flair button and a D-lish Scraps Doily and sequin bow.  The gold crosses came from the same Thickers pack as the Be in the title.

IMG_9687.JPG

As always, I have put together a process video so you can watch it all come together.  Head over to Popleopod channel and don’t forget to subscribe to see more process videos like this one.  I am also on Facebook and Instagram so, if you haven’t already go and like them too – I often share sneak peeks of projects I am working on.

 

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

