EVIL QUEENS – An Art Journal Page

It’s my Design Team share on the Colour Blast Blog today.  An I decided to do an Art Journal page of something I think about every day….Disney Princesses. My daughter is really into the Disney princesses at the moment. Her favourites are Rapunzel and Anna.  I can’t say I am disappointed or one of those people who hates Frozen.  These movies are on everyday in out house over and over not that anyone sits and watches them for longer than ten minutes but they create a atmosphere.  I love watching princess movies, I love Disney, I love the messages and I love the Princesses.  My favourites are Cinderella and Ariel but I love Belle and Anna too.  Oh, who am I kidding I love them all.  I think this layout is the start of a Princess series from me.  I have a whole heap of ideas that I just need to find the time to get onto paper.  Who’s your favourite princess?

So enough about Princesses and on to the layout. I like to look for ways to use the pastes that go beyond just applying them through a stencil.  So, I created an Art Journal Page that only used brushes to apply the paste.  Big brushes for the background and a smaller one for the details.

On the background I used a wider dry brush to create texture and on the image I used a smaller brush layering the colour over and over.

This is my page

I kept the background pretty dark on this layout using the LEATHER and STEEL pastes with the dry brush.  The background was a paper collage – something that I had started a while ago and then it got but to the side at some point.  The pastes gave it a new lease of life.

For the apple, I used red Acrylic paint mixed with SNOW WHITE colour paste.  I don’t have any red in my collection and to be honest I have been meaning to buy some for a while but everytime I have some spare money and put in an order, Red gets pushed to the bottom of the list when I look as some of the other amazing colours.  Red is back at the top now.  But that being said – the paste mixed nicely with the red acrylic and created a poison apple red that was better that I could have imagined.  I then applied straight SNOW WHITE to create the apples shine.  Foe the leaf I use ENVY and APPLE OF MY EYE.  They look great together. The shine of the paste makes it so hard to photograph but it look fantastic in real life.

My lettering still needs a lot of work but it is slowly getting better.  I need to find a white pen that works well for journalling – I tried a Posca paint pen but I always have trouble getting them to write fluidly.  What’s your favourite Art Journalling pen?  I resorted to using liquid white out which a fellow Art Journaller suggest to me and it worked but wasn’t as fine as I wanted.  Any advice is appreciated!

As always, I have created a process video for you to have a look at – Art Journalling is something I want to find more time for. I really enjoy it.  Go check out my YouTube Channel Popleopod.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

