Masters Challenge – Clear Snap

This past months Masters Challenge with Scrapbooking Memories Magazine (Vol18 #11) was a bunch of Clear Snap Inks.  These are really pretty inks.  The colours are beautiful and they are all colour coordinated so you don’t have to think about what colours work with what.  There were also two stencils one with hearts and one with swirls.

For this layout I used a black and white photo of my feet at the sea.  I decided to create my own background (surprise, surprise so not like me at all). I first put down some swirls in embossing ink and clear embossed some swirls.  I wanted to create texture and something that had lots of elements to look at.  I then inked some swirls using three different blue/green inks before applying heaps of textural embellishments. Using the same three inks, I coloured some white cheesecloth, a Charms Creation heart and some Scrap Matts Bubbles Chipboard to match.  I then layered it all and added some natural twine.

DSC00346.JPG

I pondered this layout for over a week.  I had no idea on how to approach it. My thoughts were – The swirls are very 70’s and my photos were nothing like that.  The hearts were very comical and not really my style.  So what to do?!? This idea came to me by accident.  I was looking at the stencils for the millionth time and it hit me – Swirling water.  My recent trip to the beach! Sometimes you need to look at things differently. If I am honest with you, I’ve never thought more about my layouts before actually sitting down to scrap than I do now.  I dream about them – Plan them in my mind.  And I am producing the best layouts I have ever produced.  (So theres a little tip for you – Planning makes things easier.)

Here are a few close ups… I LOVE TEXTURE!

DSC00349.JPG

DSC00348.JPG

DSC00347.JPG

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

