My First Task as a Scrapbooking Memories Master

My first task as a Scrapbooking Memories Master was to create a layout using a Studio Calico Pack called CarolinaMoon.  I love these challenges.  The pack contained a range of papers and embellishments but to my surprise there was a lot of black and white.  In a way this was good – black and white can be made to work with any colour.

I had a few photos that I wanted to use and my first thought was great I can make them work.  Especially as in the photo my daughter is wearing a black and white striped shirt.  I was happy with the layout I created until I embellished it and then I felt that it was not “Master Worthy” so I set about creating another layout.

What do you think?

This is the finished layout. 
This is before embellishments…


The second attempt… This time I used one of my favourtie photos of my daughter.  I recently won a Jot Magazine Heidi Swapp Memorydex competition where this photo was scrapped by the amazing Petra Corcoran.  I actually have a few photos from that day printed in both black and white and colour for scrapbooking but I hadn’t found the right inspiration.

I went with a black and white photo and took inspiration from the triangles on one of the patterned papers. I added some paint to some texture paste and put that through a stencil.  I wanted to use a colour other than pink as I find myself always reaching for pink when I scrapbook the girls.  Plus the teal matched a Charms Creation Heart that I had in my stash.


 The layout turned out a little bit cute in the end and I am much more happy with this layout than the first.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

