Jot Moodboad Challenge – November

This months moodboard challenge over at Jot Magazine is so pretty I just couldn’t wait to have a go.  I will admit I changed my photo choice half way through to match the background, you have to be flexible.

Incase you haven’t seen it here is the moodboard here and here is my finished layout….

202

Pink and yellow – a perfect colour combination.  I created my own background over a piece of patterned paper from a Studio Calico paper pad I had in my stash rather than a plain white piece of cardstock for a change.  I’m glad I did it adds a bit more detail to the finished layout.  I took some progress photos so you can see how I went about creating the background and to show some things I tried that just didn’t work…

So my background started with Gelatos.  I scribble them on a piece of plastic packaging then using a very wet mop brush apply them to the cardstock like you would watercolour paints. I also applied some ink in the same way.

096

This is what I created…

097

This is the trial and error part.  I thought that I would stencil some flowers onto the background.  My white signo pen didn’t show and my Posca pen was too thick for the fine stencil I wanted to use so I drew it on with black – Epic FAIL.  The black did not work with my colour scheme or my ideas.

099

I could have scrapped the entire background but I didn’t have another piece of this paper so, I just off centered my paper cluster to cover this mess and used my embellishments to cover what was peeking out from underneath.

Here are a few more close ups of the details.

 

 

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

One thought on “Jot Moodboad Challenge – November”

Leave a Reply

