Guest Design Layout for Charms Creations

This month I am lucky enough to be a guest designer with Charms Creations.

For my first layout I put together this layout of my son. I originally planned to scrap this photo last month for the scrap the boys online challenge but I ran out of month. It’s actually probably a good thing as I needed more time to think about it.  It turned out better than I originally planned.  

This layout features a Charms Creation red and yellow Superstar with a funky skull button. As part of the D-lish design team I picked up a Scrap FX rose stencil which matched the roses on the button so I paired it up.

  
I traced the stencil and coloured it with my gelatos. Once it was finished, I found the pattern a bit too bright and girly so I toned it down with a wash of Dylusions yellow and black inks and some texture paste through a Tim Holtz stencil.

I also added a DIY tab that I altered with yellow tissue paper that I had stamped with Stayzon ink before applying it with Gel Medium. I used the technique Katie Howard shared when the DIY challenge was on a few months ago. It gives it a bit of a grungy edge.

  
To finish the layout I made a little stamped flag and coloured some Scrap fx chipboard to frame the photo.

The grungy-ness of the layout is not usually something I would have associated with my 20 month old son but the story matches the layout. 

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

