WOW – triple treat layout 

A few weeks ago I stumbled across the WOW (Words or Whatever) Facebook page. I have quite a selection of this chipboard in my stash but I never thought to look for it on Facebook. 

Anyways…the thing that got me was a post about a secret challenge. All you had to do was send a stamped self addressed envelope and you would get three pieces of chipboard to creat with and enter the draw. That easy enough and for $1.40 worth of stamps why not.

I posted off my envelopes and within a week I received my challenge chipboard. (I forget to take a before photo so I borrowed this photo from the WOW Facebook page.

  
 I have to admit my heart sank a little when I saw Christmas chippies. Don’t get me wrong they are gorgeous but it’s only October and as much as I love Christmas I wasn’t ready to work on Christmas layouts just yet. So, I put them aside.

But then my Facebook feed started filling up with some pretty neat layouts using the triple treat chipboard. (I actually get notified everytime someone posts in WOW.) I keep thinking I need to get mine sorted but everytime I had a spare minute I’d work on something else. But the other night, I got my thoughts together and created this layout.

 It’s a full family selfie of my family at Christmas lunch last year. My brother gave me a selfie stick. It was the best present of the day. I know crazy but we had a lot of fun with it and everyone gotbinvolved. I love it when that happens. It’s one of my favourite photos and a have made a few different layouts using this actual photo. 

I decided to go for a white space layout that is trending quite a bit at the moment and to add my touch by preparing my own background. The background is Tim Holtz distressing ink in Twisted Citron (one of my all time favourite colours) and some red acrylic paint. I wanted it to look like a Monet style holly bush. Monet style to me is summed up by Cher in the movie – Clueless. What’s a monet? “It’s like a painting. From far away, it’s OK, but up close, it’s a big old mess.”

  
 So I wanted my background to be very Christmas but very abstract. The colours of the photo are a bit random and no one is actually dressed very Chrisymasy (this is changing this year. Everyone has already been notified or NO presents), I decided to keep the chipboard quite plain to tie it all together. I just embossed it with some shiny black embossing powder I forgot I had. To add a bit of Christmas ‘Sparkle’ I had to throw in a D-lish Glitter bow. These are my very favourite thing to use on a layout. You can find them under Sequin bows. I know I referred to them as glitter bows that’s what they are in my head. You can get some here.

  
What do you think? Maybe a little plain compared to some of the layouts already shared on the WOW Facebook page but I wanted this layout to be about the picture.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

One thought on “WOW – triple treat layout ”

Leave a Reply

