October Challenge – Scrap the Girls

This month is my second months with Scrap the Girls as part of the Design team. I still get a bit of a thrill knowing that I can see what is coming up before everyone else sees it.

This months moodboard was really cute.  I had so many ideas about what I wanted to do and only one of them ended up on the finished page.

Here is the Moodboard.

  
I loved the butterflies and went on a hunt to find some at ALL the local $2 shops.  I did buy a packet but in the end didn’t use any.  They weren’t quite right.  But my hand made arrow turned out better than I thought it would.  Those little spotted feathers weren’t easy to track down or cheap but I love them and I can see them being used on a few more layout in the near future.  I went a bit brighter with the colours to match in with the photo I chose to use.  The photo is of my daughter Poppy.  She is obsessed with “Dressing Like a Princess”  this translates to  – “I must have a TUTU on” and the bigger the better!  As much as it is a pain to fight with her each morning about which one she can wear (depending on what we are doing that day), it does make for some pretty awesome and interesting photos.  I have learned to embrace the tutu.  I have actually bought some more just to change up the colours a bit and open up the options of my scrapbooking layouts.  Yes, I’m a mum that always thinks how will I scrapbooking those colours!  Thank goodness for black and white.

For this layout out I used my recently purchased chalks to colour the background before adding some texture past through a stencil.  Overall this layout is fairly simple for me but I didn’t want to draw away from the photo.  I used the quote from the moodboard as my title and teamed it up with a Charms Creation teal Star that I altered with some Bubblegum Scented Embossing powder and a D-lish Scraps glitter bow.  The combination is perfect.  I love a glitter bow!

   
   

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

