“Wander” Layout

Today, I’m sharing a layout that has been created for some time but I liked it so much I held on to it hoping it would be my gold in a time of need. Well, it was. It helped me tick off my New Years Resolution list – be in Jot Magazine.

  
It was originally created for the Sassy Scrappers July Moodboard although I never entered it. This is the inspiration here…

  
 

So, the call for mixed media layouts to be featured in Jot Magazine Issue 11 came across my blog lovin feed one morning and I knew I had to be in it.  I sent off my layout and crossed my fingers. Weeks later, one Thursday evening, I got an email from Kim saying that it would be in the up coming issue. I screamed and danced on the spot. This dance it something my husband has gotten used to in the past few months as I have been crossing  quite a few resolutions off my list lately. I am  feeling so grateful and lucky at the moment. I still can’t believe it.

Anyhow, I prepared this page with the intention of blogging about it so I have full process photos to share.

I started with a piece of cardstock prepared with a layer of gel medium. The gel medium acts as a barrier between the paper and wet mediums to stop them absorbing in too much. 

  I then added a layer of Versa Ink through a Tom Holtz stencil using a make up sponge.

  
I added some stamps from the Sweet Stamp Shop using Stazon. I am going to colour them using gelatos so it needed to be permanent  and not affected by the water.

   
Then using some Dyludions ink I added some details using the stem of the sprayer straight from the bottle.

 
I then added some sparkle medium through a Stencil using a palette knife.  

I then added more details with red acrylic paint applied with an old rewards card. Before I started assembling (to allow a bit of drying time without having to use my heat gun), I coloured a Charms Creation DIY heart to match my layout using gelatos, Dylusions ink and Heidi Swapp Colour Shine. There are some of my favourite embellishments to use. You can check them out here. (Do note: This is not a sponsored post, I just love the products) 

Then it was time to put it all together. I stared off with thread just randomly placed on the page. I don’t glue it down , I allow the paper cluster to hold it in place. I love thread and use it all the time. I prefer top stitch thread it is thicker and stands out more. I then used a paper cluster I created using Scraps of cardstock and Jellibean Soup paper.    

 Then I add more thread for detail. This time it’s fine gold metallic thread.  

Again there is no need to glue it down, the picture holds it in place.  

Then I added some embellishments.  Including my prepared heart. 

Finally, the title using Amy Tangerine Thickers and Kaisercraft Alphas.  

Done. Here are some of the details up close.

   
 
Hope you feel inspired. Mixed media isn’t hard at all. It’s the drying time that is a killer.

And just for something a bit special…here is the layout created in 10 seconds

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

One thought on ““Wander” Layout”

Leave a Reply

