“AM I” Layout – Kraft + August Challenge

This is the first time I have attempted a Kraft + Challenge.  I have looked at the challenges on Kraft +  before but all the rules have scared me a bit.  I first saw the thumbnail for this challenge on the Charms Creations Facebook Page.  Charm has taken the time to find all the best monthly challenges and display them in an album.  This challenge is all about Zentangles and doodling. You can read about it here.

I will be honest, when I first saw the picture – I looked at the pictures only and I didn’t get it so I moved on to find a challenge that spoke to me.  But then I saw some layouts that others were putting together and it hit me – a real gosh I’m an Idiot moment, Zentangle doodling.  I went back and had another look at the moodboard/Inspiration and I decided to give it a go.  For inspiration I went to the library and had a look through some art books.  This exercise itself has given me some great ideas for both my scrapbooking layouts and my art journal.

  
This wasn’t my favourite challenge I have done recently.  Zentangles = time consuming and although some find “doodling” therapeutic, I don’t.  I like to create with a goal and big picture in mind but this was totally organic.  I had some idea where I wanted to go but because of all the detail it changed and evolved as I went along.  BUT at the end of the day, now it is all finished – I love it.  I love the way the patterns came together, I love the way I have included the photo and I especially love the quote.  I read Alice in Wonderland as an adult when my husband and I travelled through Canada it brings back some lovely memories. I am going to go back and reread it again after making this layout. I added some final details in the form of Sequins and a Charms Creations Arrow just so that it didn’t look so flat.

  

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

5 thoughts on ““AM I” Layout – Kraft + August Challenge”

  1. That’s the thing about challenges…they CHALLENGE us, & oft times we come out of them with a pleased little smile on our faces!!! So happy you finally had the chance to join us at K+ & I have to say, your LO is STUNNING….adore how you actually doodled onto the photo. The whole thing has a relaxed organic quality about it that I love:)

    Like

  2. Well for initially being scared off by the challenge you have totally rocked it. Love what you have done and so glad you decided to take a second look. Thanks for playing along at K+

    Like

  3. This may not be your favourite layout, but I think it completely rocks! I love your doodling, that background is amazing. Thanks for joining in the fun over @ Kraft+ 🙂

    Like

  4. Well I’m so glad you decided to have another look at the board, because you’ve done a fantastic job! Wonderful to have you play along with us and I hope you’ll consider joining again 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

