“Wild Indeed” Charms Creations – DIY Challenge August 2015

The Challenge over on Charms Creations this months was all about DIYs.  You can check it out here. There are a great range of DIYs over in the shop but I particularly love the 4 pack that includes an arrow, a chevron, a star and a heart.  For this layout I have used the arrow from this pack.

Usually, I colour my DIYs with my inks (particularly Dylusions) in block colours but I felt that for this challenge that was a bit too boring. But i kept coming back to my inks., I love the way the ink looks on the calico.  That’s when I decided I was going to go with what I know and like using but rather than block the colour on I was going to lightly mist them through a stencil.  It turned out so well.  The stencil lines are so crisp and I think that is because I misted it lightly and is didn’t absorb too much and kept it clean.This layout actually came together by accident.  I initially did the paper cluster for a YouTube video to show how I put them together (this is yet to be published) and then it was cast aside on my desk.  The background was in my pile of backgrounds that didn’t work how they were supposed to.  This particular one was the first go at a layout I put together for the recent Scrapbooking Memories Masters Competition.  It was too dark for my initial idea but for this layout, I teamed it up with some bright yellow and it was perfect. I also made my own embellishment arrow from some old book pages and some bamboo sticks. I love it.  It links the photo with the layout too.

Well this is it…

  

And a close up of my DIY arrow.

  

 Oh and my book/bamboo arrow.   
 

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

3 thoughts on ““Wild Indeed” Charms Creations – DIY Challenge August 2015”

  1. LOVE how you stencilled over the top with ink! Great colour combo! Totally love your boy page – the background is fabulous! Thanks for entering the DIY challenge! XO Charm

    Like

  2. Funny how sometimes our mistakes work for us. Fantastic layout, and love what you’ve done with the DIY. Thanks for joining in with us at Charms Creations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

