Jot Magazine – Moodboard 28: August 2015

This months moodboard stumped me a bit.  I think its because when I look at it all I think of is Santorini and the Greek Islands.  I could have just pulled out some old photos but I think that it would have been to much.  Here it is here.

   
I sat on it for a few days, coming back a number of times to study the details.  It was then I noticed the leaves, the henna style patterns and the silver.  Believe it or not, I didn’t notice the silver the first few times I looked at it. Of course the white picture in the bottom left had me thinking – Doily.

So, what I decided on is to clear emboss the henna style pattern using some Kaisercraft Stamps from my stash and they wash over them with two different blue gelatos. I then added a silver doily and a blue and white paper cluster.  I raided my stash and found a clear transparency from a Studio Calico kit that had the word Adventure on it which went great with the words – You are my greatest adventure. I finished off the layout with a DIY Charms Creation chevron that I coloured using the same coloured gelatos that I did the background wash.  I have found a love for journaling with my typewriter my friend gave me.  It gives a whole different feel to the layout.

  
  
So, there it is. For something that stumped me initially, I am pretty happy with the way it turned out in the end.  I especially love the clear embossing and gelato wash.  I will definitely be trying this again.

I have filmed the process of this layout and it will be on my YouTube channel Popleopod in the coming weeks so make sure you pop over and subscribe so you don’t miss it.  I have shared a few different ideas on my Instagram too so follow along there to – @krisy28a.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

4 thoughts on “Jot Magazine – Moodboard 28: August 2015”

  1. I agree…it reminded me of Greece as well…. or actually…it reminded me of the Blue Mosque in Turkey… it was a mood board that had a real feel this month.
    I love what you did with it… thanks so much for joining in the challenge..Mardi

    Like

  2. Hi Krisy — this is great!!! I loved reading about your approach and your process with this layout and the thought behind it. Thanks so much for playing along with our August Mood Board over at Jot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

