Jot Magazine Moodboard – July 2015

My initial thoughts on this moodboard were how am I going to make this work.  This is the moodboard…

  
Initially, I was only focusing on the orange and teal but then after a few days of thinking, I went back and had another look.  IT was then that I noticed the Pineapples in the bottom left corner.  I think its the fact that they are soft pastel colours that I didn’t notice them in the beginning.  But there they were…right then I had my lightbulb moment!

I decided that I wanted to incorporate the orange and green into my layout but I would leave out the teal.  This is not a colour combo that really appeals to me so I had to break them down to make them work.  I have recently invested in some stamp carving tools and a pineapple was one of the first stamps that I made.  I originally created it to used the an art journal I have the intention of starting but have not yet got around to.  This pineapple was going to be the focus of my layout.

  
First, I stamped the Pineapples on to some what cardstock using StayzOn Ink.  It must be something that doesn’t run and then I used my gelatos to create a watercolour wash over the images.  They turned out better than I thought they would.
  
I only used a small paper cluster on this layout, I didn’t want to draw away from the pineapples too much but I wanted the picture to stand out too so I also added the black hand drawn circles and chevrons.  When in doubt chevrons will always draw the eye in was my thoughts.

  
When I was looking for Alphas for the titles I came across some Heidi Swapp ones that I picked up off a Garage Sale Site and they were teal.  This would be my teal element but I didn’t want it to dominate so I used black Amy Tan AC Thickers for the 2015 and Kaisercraft Alpha tiles for the rest.

  
I love this layout and the fact that my recent top knot works with the pineapples…it was meant to be.

Here is the finished layout here…

  
You can see my create the layout in 10 seconds here….

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

5 thoughts on “Jot Magazine Moodboard – July 2015”

Leave a Reply

