Scrap The Girls – July Sketch Challenge 2015

I was starting to panic that I was not going to get around to having a scrappy play this month with a stay in hospital that still has me a bit sore but I have been able to stop thinking about how I’d put things together. So, I finally got a chance late the other night, I smashed out three pages within a couple of hours.

This months Scrap the Girls Online Challenge is a Sketch.  I have been experiementing lately with different backgrounds and textures so I added the Sketch idea to one of these.  Here is the Sketch…

 I have found working with my pictures in black and white allows me to explore different colour combinations without being limited to what “works” with the picture.

The background all revolved around some brown wrapping paper that I have been hording since my daughters birthday on Christmas Eve.  It has birds and leaves printed on it with the birds having either blue or pink details.  Thus the pink and blue that dominate the background.  I created the background using old book pages, watercolour paper and strips of the wrapping paper.  I then dulled it down a bit with a thin layer of gesso applied with a  brayer.  Once it was dry I painted on Dylusion Inks in Bubblegum Pink and Calypso Teal plus a spray of White Linen once it had dried.  (I look at the white now and it reminds me of bird poo so it kinds works with the birds on the paper.)

  
To create the “Sketch” Image, I used Washi Tape that looks like old School Film, acrylic paint applied with an old rewards card and more strips of the brown paper.  I also added a bit of detail with triangles of Sparkle medium applied though an Amy Tan Stencil and some texture paste applied through a Kaisercraft Stencil. There are also some Polka Dots there too that I added with a stamp that I picked up from Typo the other week.   I had a large paper cluster ready to put behind the photo but I felt like it was too much with this background so I scaled it down to a simple mount that matched the outside mount paper.

  
The title is some American Craft Thickers from an old Studio Calico kit that I have been hoarding.  Not really hording, they are dark blue and I haven’t done any layouts that I thought would match it.  I really need to stop thinking about things too much.  It turned out great.  Yes, black would have worked too but I didn’t have any in a font that would have worked.  The little black tiles are Kaisercraft Alphas that I am loving at the moment especially with my Project Life.  The glitter bow is from D-Lish Scraps and the gold doily is from the cheap shop. I love doilies and have just ordered a whole heap of different ones so keep an eye out for them on future layouts.

Here is the finished layout.

  
You can watch me create the whole layout is 10 seconds here…

  
So, what do you think? I love colour moodboards but it is nice for a change to work with a sketch.  Can’t wait to see what next month holds in store.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

7 thoughts on “Scrap The Girls – July Sketch Challenge 2015”

  1. Hi Krisy, love your textural background work & color combo. I wish you all the best with your health too. Thanks heaps for joining us at Scrap the Girls 🙂

    Like

  2. Love this, what an amazing colour combo. I loved the step by step photo tutorial. Thanks for joining us at Scrap The Girls

    Like

  3. AMAZING! Love seeing how you did this, building up all the layers! Thanks for joining in with us at Scrap The Girls!

    Like

Leave a comment