Jot Moodboard – June 2015

this layout was inspired by the Jot magazine Moodboard challenge for June. This month it was all about Pink, Green, Watermelons, flamingos and black polka dots. It screams fresh and summer but it’s the middle winter! Here it is…

  
Not wanting to scrap something old I may have added to my top knot collection a new topknot just to suit the theme. Plus flamingos go with everything right!?! Scrapbooking about me is something I am trying to do a bit more of too, so it’s all justified!

To be honest, this layout didn’t quite work out as I had invisioned but I’m happy to call it done. It’s a lot brighter than I thought it would be but I like that.

I experimented with a new stencil I picked up at the recent Brisbane Scrapbooking expo which fit perfectly with my ideas for this and another layout that is currently a work in progress. I mixed some Dylusions ink and texture paste together then used my finger to dabb it onto the stencil. Once it was dry, I hand stitched around the circles. I didn’t have any black polka dot paper in my stash so I made my own by carving a circle stamp on a Lino block and stamping it onto white paper. I made a three piece watermelon stamp too and used it on another piece of white paper. I used both of these to matte the photo but the amount of work that went into them seems to be lost in the final layout with the detail in the stencil and stitching. At least they can be used again on other projects.

The background colours were a little last minute it was the last thing I decided on. I used gelatos for this. I started my layout with a preprd piece of white Bassill cardstock. I usually work with just American Crafts or Kaisercraft plain card stock but recently I decided I wanted to try something with a smooth surface. I am still not 100% sold on the cardstock. Maybe a bit more practice and it’ll work out. I used a thin layer of texture paste as my base layer rather than gel medium so maybe this has something to do with it. It’s all a part of the fun!

  

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

6 thoughts on “Jot Moodboard – June 2015”

Leave a Reply

