A Series of Cards – Happy Tassels

I have been inspired recently by a blog post that Natalie Elphinstone did that included hand made tassels.  You can read all about them in her blog here or check out the tutorial on the Studio Calico Blog here.  They have been on my mind and how I could incorporate these into some of my layouts and cards.  

After a trip to Spotlight to pick up some Heidi Swapp Colourshine (another obsession of mine at the moment), I came home with a newly released Heidi Swapp Happy Die and a reduced to clear Studio Calico paperpad called Nautical.  In the paper pad there are some really nice pink and creamy white papers that I thought would work well with some photos I took at New Years of my daughter, Poppy.  I  thought I could team these up with some glittery paper, sequins and hand made tassels and it would look pretty special.

First things first, I made all the tassels.  

Natalie makes the point of mentioning that it is a very tedious activity and to do it in front of the TV or something like that.  I agree.  If you are a mum like me and only get an hour or so while the kids are asleep to do your craft, don’t waste it making tassels.  Wait until the kids are in bed and your can do it while watching your half hour of TV before going to bed. 

 Once my tassels were made I thought I would test my colour palette and my new die by making a few cards.  Here are three.





 I’m happy with the colours so now I just need to get my Layout out of my head and on to paper.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

