Trying my hand at something new….

Dawn Lewis is a crafty figure that I have found alot of inspiration in over the past 12 months or so.  One thing that popped up on my newsfeed was that she was working on a pixel quilt that featured the old school Mario Bros.  I loved it.  I couldn’t stop thinking about it for weeks.

Quilting is something that has never interested me at all but there was something about this quilt that was calling me.  I have two of my four brothers that are very into computer games and all that geeky stuff so I knew that one of them would love it.  After thinking and dreaming about this quilt for weeks I contacted Dawn for more information on the pattern and the complexity of it.  Her words to me was go for it. Maybe try one panel first and if I don’t like it I could always make it into a cushion cover.  Well, I didn’t listen.  I went out bought all the different colours and sat down cutting out the inch and a half squares.

146

Each panel has 324 inch and a half squares.  The pattern for anyone interested can been seen on the cuttopieces.blogspot.com.  My quilt design did not include all of the panels featured here.  I substituted some for other patterns I found when I googled Mario Brothers quilts.  Mario Brothers on old school Nintendo was the first computer game that my family owned when I was a kid.  Some of the characters spoke to me more than others hence my reason to change them up. Once my squares were cut it was time to get underway and start putting them together…..

147 148 149

This was a big project so this is square one….more to come.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

Leave a Reply

