Here goes nothing…..PUBLISH

A bit of back ground and my aim. This year I turned 31.  I am no longer in the category 30 or under.  What I mean is 30 is just the last year of the 20’s right.  Its the end of the 20’s decade. Just as 20 is the end of the teens.  Anyways, I decided that because 31 sees me in the next stage of my life, I wanted to document it in a way that I haven’t done before.  I wanted to record something about me. Yes, I wanted to include all the things that make me me…kids, husband, parenting, crafting but I wanted to look back after I turn 32 and say yep that was me. Plus if it turned out any good I might continue it in the following years.

So with that in mind, a few weeks before my birthday which happened to be on the 31 March (another reason 31 seemed an Ideal place to start), I sat and wrote a list.  A list of things I wanted to do in the year I was 31.  The list included things like…document me, be happy, be a great mum, have another baby and start a blog.   I guess looking back at my list, its like a New Years Resolution list but starting in March.  I am determined though, not to fail unlike many New Years Resolutions I promised to stick to and didn’t.

I love taking photos so why not use this to document me.  Don’t get the idea that I am a Professional Photographer. I am far from a professional.  This is my photography style…Yes, I own a DSLR camera and more than one lens. I also have a point and click Olympus camera in the kids nappy bag that I carry around everywhere. I like to pose my children as well as taking natural photos but I like to keep editing minimal.  I really don’t like over processed pictures. I have only done one course on “How to get more from your camera”, I still have the cheat cards in my camera bag but have not looked at them since the moment I left that Course. (Maybe that’s something else I can add to the list of what I want to do this year.) The truth is,  I like things to be easy.  Editing is a lot of work.  I was given an Iphone 5c for my birthday and now that is my go to camera. I have a few editing apps that help me adjust the light and straighten wonky images but thats it really. Now that I have established my photography style as…. lazy, lets get back to what I am getting at…Documenting me.  I want to take photos that represent me and where I am at. Not necessarily photos of me but photos of things that make me, me.  I was going Project Life – ME.  Project Life is a style of Scrapbooking made popular by Becky Higgins, ( www.beckyhiggins.com).  It is a easy, fuss free style of scrapbooking.  So, on the day that I decided I was going to document me I decided I was going to call it “This is me @31”. I went and purchased a new album cover and started an Instagram #krisys31 and drafted my list of things I wanted to include.  This is what my ideas looked like at that stage.  My ideas come together on my phone as it is portable and I can record things while feeding the baby or supervising outside toddler play, so I feel that this snapshot really sums it up.

IMG_6674

Since starting my “This is me @ 31” album, I have discovered there are a few people tackling this style of life appreciation.  One in particular that I now follow and enjoy reading is Give a Girl a Blogs – Kellie Winnell (kelliewinnell.typepad.com).

 Actually, documenting me was not the first thing on the list.  Starting a blog was the first thing on my list.  I thought I had a few weeks I could get organised and start it on my birthday then I would begin my blogging life at 31.  Well, that didn’t happen.  I love reading blogs, I love getting glimpses into the lives of people with interest I share so I wanted to share me and my experiences.  Easy.  Nope.  No where near as easy as it seemed.  Where do I start, how do I start, what do you write in your first post? 

I spend the next few months thinking about it…and I mean thinking.  I was even dreaming about it. I was reading posts, emailing my favourite bloggers about where to go and how to start.  The message they all gave me.  Just Start.  Write your first post and hit Publish.  Once you’ve started you’ll be hooked.  So, here I am almost the end of July and I am going to do it.  Better late than never. Finally…I am going to hit Publish.

Published by

krisy

I am a Art maker and Memory Keeper. I am a mother of three with glitter in her veins.

2 thoughts on “Here goes nothing…..PUBLISH”

Leave a Reply

